Friday, March 9, 2018

Stacking the Shelves (151)/Sunday Post

Stacking the Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves or TBR piles, may it be physical or virtual.  This means you can include books you buy in a physical store, online, books you borrow from the library or friends, review books, gifts and of course, ebooks! The original meme was started over at Tynga's Reviews. And it now has a new co-host where individuals can link up as well - Marlene from Reading Reality.  Clicking on the book (or title) should take you to the Goodreads page.  I'm also now linking up with the Sunday Post which is hosted by Kimberly@Caffeinated Book Reviewer

So first up I have three books from Amazon.  I grabbed "The Naughty List" when I saw it for free because it deals with Krampus, and I'm obsessed with Krampus.  "The Edge of Life" was also free, which is good because it's just a short story and even if it is horror, I wouldn't pay for 40 or so pages of story - well, at least not normally.  And finally I purchased "The Sick House."  However, Amazon and I were having issues that day and they were at fault and after being on the phone for an hour, they ended up giving it to me for free. And to the person whom I told "My Echo is more capable of fixing my problem than you" I am sorry.  It was kind of mean (but may have been accurate).


I grabbed two more things off of Hoopla.  I adore dark Sabrina and was glad to see Hoopla had "The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina - Issue 6."  I've also always wanted to try the "Revival" series.  


Finally I received a few review copies.  "The Butterfly Conspiracy" is touted as being for fans of Deanna Raybourn and "The Cuckoo Wood" sounds like an awesome thriller.  I've not read a Ruth Ware book so "The Death of Mrs. Westaway" will be my first and heaven help me I requested "The Last Time I Lied" by Riley Sager.  Hope I like it better than "Final Girls."  And am I the only one who sees Natalie Portman when I look at the cover????



So did you grab any good books this week?  Or like me, did you grab any you regret (I'm having Final Girls flashbacks already)?

49 comments:

  1. I was curious about The Cuckoo Wood as well, but resisted the temptation. You'll have to tell me how it is!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I couldn't resist it and I think it's the first in a new series. At least I hope it is. Netgalley isn't always the best about clarifying if it is a sequel or part of a series.

      Delete
  2. Ah Jeff Strand! I've picked up a few of his books over the last few months. I really enjoyed The Haunted Forest Tour!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! I'm so glad to hear you liked that one.

      Delete
  3. I am so jealous you go the Ruth Ware book. I tried to request it from NetGalley but was declined. I don't get accepted for many adult ficton books. I enjoyed her last two novels.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I was actually kind of shocked that I was approved especially since I've not read any of her books yet.

      Delete
  4. You got some good sounding thrillers this week. Sorry to hear about your Amazon issues. My least favorite thing in the world is when I have to call customer service for anything. So stressful! I see Natalie Portman tooπŸ˜‰

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I tried to be patient but after an hour and three different assistants, I'm not proud but I lost it.

      Delete
    2. I would've lost it way before then :)

      Delete
  5. I've been debating on grabbing the new Ruth Ware. I've also not read anything about her despite owning all of her previous books in some form or other. I am definitely curious about The Last Time I Lied. Lol to your Amazon comment. Happy reading!
    Natflix&Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm probably not the one to promote willpower but hey, if you feel like requesting it, I say go for it.

      Delete
  6. Neat looking reads, hope you like them all!!
    http://justmeandmyblogreviews.blogspot.com/2018/03/stacking-shelves_10.html

    ReplyDelete
  7. I am eager to get The Death of Mrs. Westaway, as I loved Ruth Ware's previous books.

    Also curious about The Last Time I Lied.

    Enjoy! Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep, I just hope my curiosity doesn't kill the cat.

      Delete
  8. The Last Time I lied sounds really good so I hope it works out for you better than her other book! :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. AH! I can't wait to see what you think about The Death of Mrs. Westaway!

    ReplyDelete
  10. That does kinda look like Natalie Portman! I like the look of dark Sabrina, and The Naughty List- what a cover!!

    ReplyDelete
  11. The Naughty List is captivating that cover and the title....I think I may have to get it just for that ;) My Shelf

    ReplyDelete
  12. I hope you enjoy them all. I have to stay far away from the free books or I’d be drowning in them. I have no self-control.

    Aj @ Read All The Things!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know that drowning feeling you're describing all too well.

      Delete
  13. Now that's a nice batch of new reads, Barb. And I grabbed The Naughty List too!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Sabrina! I am so looking forward to that NEtflix series!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too. What do you think about the casting?

      Delete
  15. Looks like lots of mystery/thrillers this week. I hope you enjoy them all!

    Mary #SundayRoundup #9

    ReplyDelete
  16. That Damned Cat. Ha! I'd never seen dark Sabrina. How fun! Happy reading this week :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I read the first graphic novel last year and loved it. On Hoopla, I can get the new issues so I've been trying to catch up.

      Delete
  17. I love the covers of The Edge of Life, and The Cuckoo Wood. I hope they read as good as they look. Have a wonderful week. πŸ’œ

    ReplyDelete
  18. I can't wait to hear what you think of the Riley Sager book. I wasn't even tempted by it after Final Girls. That one left a bad taste in my mouth. I am very tempted by the new Ruth Ware book but am trying to catch up and be responsible so I told myself no. Have a great week!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well, if I hate this one, I'm permanently adding Sager to the "never read again" list.

      Delete
  19. LOL! To be fair, Alexa is pretty smart! Oh my gosh, you will have to let me know how that new Riley Sager book works out. I'm not sure how I feel about reading another one so soon.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well, I took a chance so I have to see how it plays out.

      Delete
  20. It may have been a wee bit mean, but your Echo remark made me laugh. I've dealt with some wonderful customer service reps, and some who were clueless. I'm guessing yours was in the latter category. ;-)

    I'll be checking out The Butterfly Conspiracy. I love Deanna Raybourn, so comparing a book to hers will definitely get me to give it a look.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, that Raybourn series is one of my faves so I have high hopes for this one too.

      Delete
  21. Haha, that line you said to Amazon person is really funny :D I am glad you got the free book though.
    It seems like you had a great haul. I hope you enjoy all of your new books :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They all look great and the only problem is I don't know where to start.

      Delete
  22. "The Edge of Life" was still free so I grabbed it! YAY! Thanks for posting about it! I almost requested "The Death of Mrs. Westaway" because of the cover! BUT I have so many pending ARCs. BUT you are making me reconsider [as usual!] lol]

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad you could get it. That cover is awesome - so Gothic looking.

      Delete
  23. Some good looking books, but that Naught List cover really caught my eye!
    sherry @ fundinmental Sunday Memes

    ReplyDelete
  24. Sometimes being cheap has benefits. I held off on Final Girls and requested it at the library. My # still hasn't come up but I'm no longer impatient for it. I hope the new one works better for you!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Can't wait to see what you think about Final Girls. Hope you get it soon. Maybe you'll like it a lot better.

      Delete
  25. That Ruth Ware book looks good. I should look into that one. ;)

    Thanks for visiting Shell's Stories!

    ReplyDelete