Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Can't Wait Wednesday (273)


Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings to spotlight highly anticipated books.  It is based on the Waiting on Wednesday meme which used to be hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.



FROM GOODREADS: A young girl discovers a portal to a land filled with centaurs and unicorns in Seanan McGuire's Across the Green Grass Fields, a standalone tale in the Hugo and Nebula Award-wining Wayward Children series.

“Welcome to the Hooflands. We’re happy to have you, even if you being here means something’s coming.”

Regan loves, and is loved, though her school-friend situation has become complicated, of late.

When she suddenly finds herself thrust through a doorway that asks her to "Be Sure" before swallowing her whole, Regan must learn to live in a world filled with centaurs, kelpies, and other magical equines―a world that expects its human visitors to step up and be heroes.

But after embracing her time with the herd, Regan discovers that not all forms of heroism are equal, and not all quests are as they seem… 

WHY I CAN'T WAIT:  Every year I feel like in January, Tor gives us a belated Christmas gift in the form of the next Wayward Children book.  Looks like next January will be no exception.  Although I do also think a year is just too long to wait between installments.  I love this series so much (all except for book #3 which lacked for me) and even though I'm one book behind, I'm sure I'll be caught up by January.

CASSIUS'S PICK:


FROM GOODREADS: Sometimes the dogs we rescue… also rescue us.


A heart-wrenching and beautiful story perfect for dog lovers everywhere. Fans of A Dog’s Purpose, The Art of Racing in the Rain and Marley and Me will be utterly entranced by this gorgeous page-turner.

Madison knows her fourteen-year-old daughter Abbie is struggling. She wishes she could give Abbie stability, the promise of a forever home in Millbury, but she is scared to stay in one town for too long, and every day Abbie seems more anxious. Until a chance encounter with a beautiful, boisterous golden retriever puppy called Duke changes everything…

Duke bounces into the community center where Madison is working and when Abbie meets him she stops pacing the room. Duke is tugging his owner, seventy-five-year-old Arthur, along for the ride, and instantly Madison sees a way she and Arthur can help each other. She offers to train Duke so that Abbie gets to see him, and from that moment the four of them become a family.

Madison finally feels like she has a second chance at life and a reason to stay in town, but when her past catches up with her they are all at risk. Duke may have united this family, but will he be able to keep them together?


A reminder of the unbelievable bonds we form with the dogs in our lives. No matter how broken you are, the unconditional love of a dog can piece you back together. 

WHY CASSIUS CAN'T WAIT:  I love my Gpa so much (actually he's my great-Gpa but don't tell him) and I think it's cool that Madison and Abbie sort of create a new family wit Arthur and Duke.  And yes, I do agree dogs and humans often rescue each other. 

WHAT BOOK CAN'T YOU WAIT FOR THIS WEEK????

45 comments:

  1. It is crazy to think of books beyond this year, but both of these sound exciting!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Ethan. I know, this year will be over before we know it. And actually, I think a lot of us will be glad to see it go.

      Delete
  2. One of these days I will need to catch up with the Wayward Children series. Everyone seems to love it! I know I'm missing out :)

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I do think you'd love it. They are such great reads.

      Delete
  3. Oh I love a good portal fantasy.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I feel I've missed out on life in a way by never having a faithful hound by my side! I am on good terms with a few great dogs that are walked by my house!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can tell you are an avid dog lover and I bet the neighborhood dogs love you.

      Delete
  5. Centaurs and unicorn?! First time I've seen them in a book like this! Consider me hooked!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does sound quite fantastical doesn't it?

      Delete
  6. I haven't read the Wayward Children series, but I feel like I should!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Since they are technically novellas, they are great quick reads. You should try one.

      Delete
  7. You and I are on the same wave length today😁 I always expect a new Wayward Children book to start off the New Year, lol.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Me, toooo! I picked the new Wayward Children books for today, too. I hope we get one every January for the rest of time.

    ReplyDelete
  9. These both sound really good and I hope you enjoy them!

    My CWW

    ReplyDelete
  10. I am not a big fan of the Wayward Children like you but I hope you enjoy this one! The Dog one sounds good! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know you didn't like the first one. Do you think you'll try any more?

      Delete
  11. I was just looking at A Dog's Chance yesterday and I have a feeling that I am going to be wanting to read that one, too. Cassius made a very good pick this week. I only have read the first book in the Wayward Children series so I have some catching up to do.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It sounds like such a sweet read and hey, there's a dog so it can't be bad - unless the dog dies. Which it doesn't seem like it will.

      Delete
  12. I need to catch up with the Seanan McGuire series - I can't believe I only read the first one. This is a good reminder to give myself a nudge.
    Lynn :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I wish we got more than once a year but then that's just being selfish right?

      Delete
  13. Two great books! I've been wanting to read Seanan McGuire. I've heard many good things about this author.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I'm not familiar with The Wayward Children series. What's the first book? Hope you love this!

    Natflix&Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They are all novellas and the first one is To Every Heart a Doorway. They are all connected but not really a series if that makes sense. They follow different characters. I think you should check them out.

      Delete
  15. Ooo... A Dog's Chance sounds delightful - I hope you enjoy this one, Barb:))

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks and thanks for visiting Booker T's Farm.

      Delete
  16. Oooh! I love the cover to A Dog's Chance! Sounds like a cute read! Great picks!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  17. I've heard a lot of good stuff about Seanan McGuire books, I really need to try one. And the cover of the second book just made me go Awww!!! Thanks for visiting Lisa Loves Literature earlier!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right back at ya Lisa. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  18. THe first book sounds so dreamy but the dog book scares me a little because they put "heartbreaking" in the description. You'll have to let me know what happens because I'm too chicken to do it myself!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Dog books always scare me, but I seem to keep buying them.

      Delete
  19. I just now discovered Across The Green Grass Fields on Tammy's blog and so want to read it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Have you read the other ones in the series? If not, you need to do so!

      Delete
  20. I need to get on with the Wayward Children books. I have only read the first one! 😯

    Ah, Cass, I saw the word "heart-wrenching" in that description and it scares me. 😑

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It scares me too. I love the Wayward Children books, except for Beneath the Sugar Sky...too much like Alice.

      Delete
  21. I want to read everything Seanan Maguire's written. Across the Green Grass Fields sounds like another good one. And A Dog's Chance sounds like a real tear-jerker. I hope you enjoy both of these when you read them. Enjoy your weekend, Barb.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's how I feel like McGuire. I also need to read more of her Mira Grant stuff too.

      Delete
  22. I still need to start the Wayward Children series, but I've heard so many good things about it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's so good Suzanne so yes, you need to do so!

      Delete