Wednesday, July 8, 2020

Can't Wait Wednesday (279)


Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings to spotlight highly anticipated books.  It is based on the Waiting on Wednesday meme which used to be hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.




FROM GOODREADS: Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect for fans of Truly Devious—a haunting story about a new girl in an old town filled with dark secrets . . . that might just kill her.

People say the house is cursed.
It preys on the weakest, and young women are its favorite victims.
In Louth, they're called the Dead Girls.

All Bram wanted was to disappear—from her old life, her family's past, and from the scandal that continues to haunt her. The only place left to go is Louth, the tiny town on the Hudson River where her uncle, James, has been renovating an old mansion.

But James is haunted by his own ghosts. Months earlier, his beloved wife died in a fire that people say was set by her daughter. The tragedy left James a shell of the man Bram knew—and destroyed half the house he'd so lovingly restored.

The manor is creepy, and so are the locals. The people of Louth don't want outsiders like Bram in their town, and with each passing day she's discovering that the rumors they spread are just as disturbing as the secrets they hide. Most frightening of all are the legends they tell about the Dead Girls. Girls whose lives were cut short in the very house Bram now calls home.

The terrifying reality is that the Dead Girls may have never left the manor. And if Bram looks too hard into the town's haunted past, she might not either.

WHY I CAN'T WAIT:
  I can't wait to find out more about this creepy manor and everything about this one sounds intriguing!

CASSIUS'S PICK:

A heart-warming animal tale of bravery and friendship between a lost boy, a daring girl and the dog next door - from an author celebrated for her honest, heartfelt and inclusive stories.

Marcus and Delilah couldn't be more different.

He is as big as she is tiny. As angry and lost as she is tremendous and brave.

But they share a dream: to own a dog of their own.

So when a mystery pup turns up in the empty house next door, Marcus can't believe his luck. He visits him every night and names him Moon Dog.

But it's soon clear that Moon Dog is in danger, and when Marcus and Delilah discover a dark secret it will test their bravery and their friendship.

Can they work together to save their dream dog?

WHY CASSIUS CAN'T WAIT:  I want to learn all about this mystery pup and I think it's glad Marcus and Delilah finally get a dog.  Mom says she may have to order this for me from Book Depository as it doesn't look to be a US release yet.  To which I replied..."SO????"

WHAT BOOK CAN'T YOU WAIT FOR THIS WEEK???

25 comments:

  1. Moon Dog! I want to bury my face in his fur and give him the biggest hug!

    ReplyDelete
  2. These both sound great! Moon Dog sounds so heartwarming, also he's really cute and I want to read about him. And Don't Tell a Soul sounds creepy, and features an old house, so I'm all over that one!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep, sign me up for all the creepy old houses, as long as they aren't mine.

      Delete
  3. Oh boy! They both sound good and have such great covers!

    ReplyDelete
  4. The cover of Don´t tell a soul looks gorgeous and the summary sounds spooky. And my wishlist just grew again. Oh my gosh, I should really stop with the blog hopping today *lol* Thank you for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know the feeling. Wednesdays are always dangerous blog hop days!

      Delete
  5. I think that Moon Dog sounds like a lovely read - not quite so enthused about Don't Tell a Soul. That cover is almost as creepy as the premise and I'm SUCH a wuss! Enjoy them both, Barb:)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ahh, I'm sure there's plenty of scarier stuff out there you could stomach. But hey, we all have our preferences which is what makes the reading community so much fun. I like balancing out my picks and Cass always seems to help me do that.

      Delete
  6. I love Kirsten Miller! Thank you so much for bringing that one to my attention. And of course I love the dog on the cover of the bottom book. :-)
    Lisa Loves Literature

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So glad I could share her book with you then. I don't think I've read anything by her before.

      Delete
  7. I love a story with a creepy house!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Ooooh those both look good!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Modern day Rebecca? Say no more! I just looked it up on Goodreads and while I'm a bit wary about its YA tag, it just sounds too intriguing too pass up!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yea, the YA tag makes me apprehensive but I've read some great YA books this year so why not?

      Delete
  10. Both of these do sound really good. I do love a good haunted house story. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haunted house stories are some of my favorites!

      Delete
  11. Don't Tell a Soul sounds really good and on the gothic side. Gonna have to add that one to my TBR. Hope you enjoy them both!

    ReplyDelete
  12. That's it Cass, don't let anything get in the way of grabbing a copy of Moon Dog!

    ReplyDelete