Tuesday, September 29, 2015

10 Books to Read if you like the Sookie Stackhouse series!

This top 10 weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and can be found HERE.  Each week they focus on lists which cover various topics related to books and reading. This week I am focusing on 10 books to read if you like the Sookie Stackhouse series!

Halfway to the Grave Moon Called
Alpha & Omega
Written in Red Some Girls Bite Witchling
The Veil Darkfever
Storm Front
First Grave Bitten Omens

I love the urban fantasy genre so this was an easy list for me. Therefore you get 2 bonus recommendations.  I will warn you that all of the above are only the first in a series, so if you decide to check any out, you may be in for a long haul. Are any of these your favorites?


  1. I love the urban fantasy genre too! I've read the Sookie Stackhouse series, of course, as well as some books in the Chicagoland Vampire series and the Night Huntress series. I'm currently reading the Kate Daniels series, and I'm loving it! There are a lot of books on your list I want to read, any recommendations on which ones to start with?

    1. Written in Red is probably my highest recommendation. Then the Bitten series and Witchling. All are good but those are my favorites. I wasn't extremely impressed with The Veil, but I want to give book 2 a chance when it comes out and it had some interesting characters.

  2. Ah, now I see why The Scarlet Dagger stood out to you on my post lol. I haven't read Sookie Stackhouse (I've seen the show, just haven't read the books), but I LOVE vampire books. So I already have some of these on my TBR and will be adding some of the others to it!

  3. Out of this list, I didn't like Chloe Neill, Anne Bishop, Karen Marie Moning, Yasmin Galenorn, or Darynda Jones. Jim Butcher was ok but nothing great. I did love Patricia Briggs, Kelley Armstrong and Jeaniene Frost though!

  4. Great recommendations! I love Chloe Neil and Kelley Armstrong! :)

  5. I still have about half the Sookie Stackhouse series to read one of these days, but I'm trying to read more fantasy-type books in general. "Written in Red" and the Darynda Jones books are on my to-read already, and I just listened to "Storm Front" on audiobook; I'll have to check out some of the others on your list!

  6. My mom loved the Sookie Stackhouse series, so I might tell her to check one of these out if she's craving more. Thanks for the list!

  7. I've only read Bitten of all of these. My Mum is a big fan of many of the books you've listed, I'll have to tell her to give the Sookie Stackhouse series a go! Thanks for sharing, and for stopping by my blog.

  8. Great list! There's some beautiful covers here too :) x