Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Can't Wait Wednesday (211)


Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings to spotlight highly anticipated books.  It is based on the Waiting on Wednesday meme which used to be hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.



FROM GOODREADS:  When Zora Novak is framed for a crime she didn’t commit, she must track down the true culprit and clear her name before it’s too late. But in a small town obsessed with ghosts, getting people to believe the truth might prove to be impossible. Fans of Riverdale and Maureen Johnson’s Truly Devious will devour this eerie murder mystery. Features spot art and a map by the author.

Zora Novak has been framed.

When someone burns down the home of the school janitor and he dies in the blaze, everyone in Addamsville, Indiana, points a finger at Zora. Never mind that Zora has been on the straight and narrow since her father was thrown in jail. With everyone looking for evidence against her, her only choice is to uncover the identity of the real killer. There’s one big problem—Zora has no leads. No one does. Addamsville has a history of tragedy, and thirty years ago a similar string of fires left several townspeople dead. The arsonist was never caught.

Now, Zora must team up with her cousin Artemis—an annoying self-proclaimed Addamsville historian—to clear her name. But with a popular ghost-hunting television show riling up the townspeople, almost no support from her family and friends, and rumors spinning out of control, things aren’t looking good. Zora will have to read between the lines of Addamsville’s ghost stories before she becomes one herself.

Acclaimed author Francesca Zappia has a perfectly pitched teen voice that shines in this inventive novel. With a compelling cast of memorable characters, a vivid small-town setting, and elements of a classic whodunit, Now Entering Addamvsille is perfect for fans of Brittany Cavallaro, Victoria Schwab, and The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina. Includes interior spot illustrations from the author.

WHY I CAN'T WAIT:  This book is being described as "Strange Things Meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer."  How can I pass that up?  It also mentions Riverdale and The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.  Now that's a lot of comparisons but definitely some of my favorite shows so I'm definitely going to give this one a try.

WHAT BOOK CAN'T YOU WAIT FOR THIS WEEK???

37 comments:

  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wait wait wait: Stranger things meets Buffy? HELL YES GIMME! Nice choice, Barb!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like just your kind of thing! I hope you can get your hands on it soon!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love that comparison, it definitely makes me want to read this too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They definitely will be roping some people in with those comparisons alone.

      Delete
  5. Looks like one I would enjoy too.
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
  6. Stranger Things meets Buffy is definitely something to get excited about!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Ooh! Stranger Things meets Buffy? I'm sold! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm looking forward to this one as well! I hope you enjoy it when it comes out!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Cool, I'm up for another ghost-y mystery after the last one I tried didn't really pan out!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh I hate to hear that. What one was it?

      Delete
  10. This sounds really good! I love all of the TV show comparisons too. Those are some of my favorite shows! Wonderful pick Barb!

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
  11. Oooh! Francesca Zappia! I love her works! Awesome pick!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't think I've read anything by her before.

      Delete
  12. This seems like a fun story for the fall! Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes the timing is awesome. Lots of good books to pick up for Halloween reads this summer.

      Delete
  13. Stranger Things meets Buffy? Now that sounds cool!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Now I just want to watch Stranger Things lol. Very excited for season 3.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, we only have a little more than a month left to wait!

      Delete
  15. Sounds good to me! Hope you enjoy it!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I love the sound of this I really do - it goes on the list.
    Thanks
    Lynn :D

    ReplyDelete
  17. I definitely need to check this one out! I loved Eliza and Her Monsters!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've not read that one but I have heard great things!

      Delete