Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Can't Wait Wednesday (245)


Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings to spotlight highly anticipated books.  It is based on the Waiting on Wednesday meme which used to be hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

So the public has spoken - Cass is now a full-time contributor to Can't Wait Wednesday.  That means each week you'll see two books here. Of course Cass is already lobbying for an increase in salary (at least he works for treats - and bandanas).




FROM GOODREADS: Winter was the only season every Lake-Lander feared...

In a post-apocalyptic America, a community survives in a national park, surrounded by water that keeps the Dead at bay. But when winter comes, there's nothing to stop them from crossing the ice.

Then homebody Peter puts the camp in danger by naively allowing a stranger to come ashore and he's forced to leave the community of Wranglestone. Now he must help rancher Cooper, the boy he's always watched from afar, herd the Dead from their shores before the lake freezes over.

But as love blossoms, a dark discovery reveals the sanctuary's secret past. One that forces the pair to question everything they've ever known.

An action-packed and thought-provoking debut, for fans of Patrick Ness, Marcus Sedgwick, DREAD NATION and The Walking Dead. 

WHY I CAN'T WAIT: I love tales in wintry settings and this one sounds good.  I also love the cover and can't help but think that might not be a bad place to live.  Plus with The Walking Dead reference, I have to give this one a try!

CASSIUS'S PICK:


FROM GOODREADS: Lily lives with her girl, Maggie Rose. Once a stray, Lily was rescued by the kind people at the animal shelter run by Maggie Rose’s mom. Now she has a very important purpose: to rescue other animals in trouble.
In Lily to the Rescue, Lily meets a crow with a broken wing, so she and Maggie Rose take the crow home to Mom. But when the crow starts to become too tame, some unexpected problems arise. It’s Lily to the rescue!
WHY CASSIUS CAN'T WAIT:  I love that Lily is a rescue and I think it's cool that her girl runs an animal shelter.  And since I ADORE birds, I can't resist seeing how they help this crow!
WHAT BOOK CAN'T YOU WAIT FOR THIS WEEK???




51 comments:

  1. I love the covers of both books. I like books about winter, too, but I don't like books about zombies so I probably won't read the first one though it's tempting. Lily to the Rescue does sound good. Cass would like my brother who sent a picture last year showing blue jays landing on his hand to take peanuts from him!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Zombies don't really bother me much. Yes, Cass would definitely like that pic. He loves to watch birds.

      Delete
  2. I've been seeing Wranglestone all over and I hope you read it! And I love that there's a rescue crow in Lily to the Rescue. Plus I'm all about crows after reading Hollow Kingdom😁

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've seen it a lot as well. The crow caught my attention as well but since it's a children's book, I'm sure that bird is no S.T.

      Delete
  3. they both sound great. i love stories in wintry settings too. adds a little extra. and birds, i love birds. like people, they have their own pecking order
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does add extra. I love snow and winter isolation much more in books than in real life.

      Delete
  4. Wintry settings are perfect for post-apocalyptic books! I hope that you love these. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I can't even imagine living in a post apocalyptic world.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ooh, Wranglestone sounds like an interesting idea for a place to survive zombies. And I adore the cover of the second book, so cute!
    Check out my Wednesday Post

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love the cover for Lily to the Rescue. It sounds like a super fun read. Thanks for sharing! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. And thanks for stopping by. It is a super cute cover.

      Delete
  8. These both are great picks! I am curious about what secrets are being held in Wranglestone and Lily sounds amazing in Lily to the Rescue!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Great choices! I really like Cass' choice!

    ReplyDelete
  10. The first one sounds somewhat interesting but have a feeling there are things I might not like but Lilly to the Rescue sounds like a winner!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yea, could be. I'm sure Lily will be great.

      Delete
  11. Okay, I need Wranglestone in my life. I hope you and Cass enjoy both of these!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Carole. You'll just have to add it to the TBR!

      Delete
  12. Oooh! Both of these sound like interesting books! Great picks!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  13. Ooh, Wranglestone looks great! I can't resist a good snowy setting either!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  14. Wranglestone sounds too creepy for me! I don't do zombie anythings! Makes me think of GoT and the army of the dead attacks. *shudders*
    I'll take Cass's choice for the week!

    My It's Wednesday! Post.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. See, I thought the army of the dead was awesome! I'm glad it ended like it did but still, they were pretty cool (no pun intended).

      Delete
  15. I was interested in Wranglestone until it mentioned love...ugh I hate love stories in zombie apocalypses! Hmmm not sure whether to try this...Pet birds is a good choice Cass!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yea, if I'm trying desperately to survive I don't know that I'd be searching for love.

      Delete
  16. You had me at post-apocalyptic!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Both are new to me! Wranglestone looks like a dark book and Cass's pick just sounds adorable!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Wranglestone is the definitely interesting to me -- especially as to the secrets they find out! Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
  19. Charlton's book does sound really good. The Walking Dead reference piqued my interest even further too. And that cover for Lily to the Rescue! Oh my gosh, that is so cute!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Walking Dead always catches my attention.

      Delete
  20. Oh hai. I see a comp to Dread Nation there. Welp, this is for sure going to have to go on my TBR. This sounds like everything I love in a book and then some. xD AND it's LGBT? Yup, yup, sounds about perfect. Thanks for sharing it!

    ReplyDelete
  21. Wranglestone sounds really good. I love wintry settings too and am always drawn to post-apocalyptic survival stories. W. Bruce Cameron writes the best dog books so I'm excited to see he has another one coming out and that it focuses on a rescue dog. Great picks this week!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I wish he would do some more in his Repo Man series though. I really like them as well.

      Delete
  22. It almost sounds good enough to make me consider reading a zombie book. They can give me nightmares. Hope you enjoy your picks!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Give it a try. You might surprise yourself!

      Delete
  23. Book and author are new to me but I like the sound of the summary from Wranglestone by Darren Charlton. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  24. Both are new to me. thank you for sharing

    ReplyDelete
  25. Aww... Lily looks like Wishbone, and I love crows and kittens, so this was a triple winning cover for me. Thanks, Cass! 🐾✨

    ReplyDelete
  26. OMG look at the adorable cover for Lily to the Rescue. I like the sound of Wranglestone very much.
    Lynn :D

    ReplyDelete