Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday (87) - A Pup Takeover!


"Waiting on" Wednesday" is weekly meme hosted over at Breaking the Spine which spotlights upcoming anticipated releases.

Mom's busy wrapping Christmas presents and mumbling something about Santa wrapping his own darn gifts so when I told her Cass and I had W.O.W. covered this week, I swear I heard a sigh of relief..  So anyway, Cass and I have been saving a few books for our next chance to hijack the blog so here you go! 





 June 27, 2017
FROM GOODREADS: In this riveting new novel by the New York Times bestselling author of the Chet and Bernie mystery series, a deeply damaged female soldier home from the war in Afghanistan becomes obsessed with finding a missing girl, gains an unlikely ally in a stray dog, and encounters new perils beyond the combat zone.

LeAnne Hogan went to Afghanistan as a rising star in the military, and came back a much lesser person, mentally and physically. Now missing an eye and with half her face badly scarred, she can barely remember the disastrous desert operation that almost killed her. She is confused, angry, and suspects the fault is hers, even though nobody will come out and say it.

Shattered by one last blow—the sudden death of her hospital roommate, Marci—LeAnne finds herself on a fateful drive across the country, reflecting on her past and seeing no future. Her native land is now unfamiliar, recast in shadow by her one good eye, her damaged psyche, her weakened body. Arriving in the rain-soaked small town in Washington State that Marci had called home, she makes a troubling discovery: Marci’s eight-year-old daughter has vanished. When a stray dog—a powerful, dark, unreadable creature, no one’s idea of a pet—seems to adopt LeAnne, a surprising connection is formed and something shifts inside her. As she becomes obsessed with finding Marci’s daughter, LeAnne and her inscrutable canine companion are drawn into danger as dark and menacing as her last Afghan mission. This time she has a strange but loyal fellow traveler protecting her blind side.

Enthralling, suspenseful, and psychologically nuanced, The Right Side introduces one of the most unforgettable protagonists in modern fiction: isolated, broken, disillusioned—yet still seeking redemption and purpose—LeAnne takes hold of the reader and never lets go.

WHY BOOKER T IS WAITING:  Mom has several books by this author although I don't think she has read any yet (and she thinks I don't pay attention to her - only Dad).  I like how it sounds like a stray dog helps LeAnne as much as she helps him. 

 June 6, 2017
FROM GOODREADS: In the tradition of Mary Kay Andrews and Dorothea Benton Frank, a charming, heartfelt tale of love lost and regained in a gated community in Savannah, Georgia.

After almost forty years in New Jersey, Catherine, Ralph, and their beloved Boston Terrier Karma are hitting the road, relocating to a gorgeous, serene island off the coast of Savannah, Georgia, where Catherine can work on her backhand and Ralph can hit the links. But upon their arrival in the Seven Oaks gated community, it becomes apparent that Catherine and Ralph’s visions of retirement couldn’t be more different. While Catherine is intrigued by their quirky neighbors, Ralph’s golf-and-poker routine seems to be interrupted only by his flirtations with their zealous real estate agent.

As the pair drift further apart, Catherine cannot help but sense her marriage is at risk. Then, she meets recent widower Fred at the dog park. United by their dogs, they embark upon a friendship that could be something more—until she discovers that he’s not quite what he seems. As she sorts out fact from fiction and discovers what sorts of secrets might be hiding behind Seven Oaks’ pristine picket fences, she’ll have to make a decision affecting her future happiness and her chance at newfound love.

WHY CASSIUS IS WAITING:  Mom used to have a good friend who lived in Savannah when she was in high school and she would visit every summer.  I think she'll like reading a book about one of her favorite places. 

SO WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR THIS WEEK (Mom always asks that right?)
P.S. - Don't ask us why our font changed in the middle of our post - we're dogs for Heaven's sake!

16 comments:

  1. First, I adore the covers -- those dogs are lovely :) Second, the PTSD angle with Leanne in The Right Side. I'm always so amazaed how healing animals can be. Here's mine: http://editingeverything.com/blog/2016/12/21/waiting-wednesday-allegedly-tiffany-d-jackson/

    ReplyDelete
  2. I think your mom will enjoy these books as much as you guys will. I hope Santa Paws is going to be good to you both for being so good this year! Maybe he'll even bring Cass a cat to 'play' with!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Those are great choices! I might have to put The Right Side on my list. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Awesome picks! The Right Side sounds especially good, might have to check that out.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I read one of the Chet and Bernie books and adored it which reminds me, I need to get back to that series! I bet you will love it too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I own several of them and did read an ARC of the Christmas novella last year so I'm sure I will like them. Not enough time - book problem #1!

      Delete
  6. These are both new to me, but they sound really interesting! I've always wanted to go to Savannah, so maybe I should try out Good Karma!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I just recently read about Good Karma the other day! Not my typical read but does sound very cute.

    ReplyDelete
  8. ha! I love your comment about the fonts! I didn't even notice it! The Right Side looks really good. I don't think I have ever read a book about the military in Afghanistan. Hope is good and you enjoy it!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love the idea of the veteran and the stray dog teaming up, and Good Karma sounds good too (cute cover). Great picks!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love the Chet and Bernie series. I'm sure the Spencer Quinn book is a good one.

    ReplyDelete
  11. The Right Side sounds very powerful, I might have to look into that one!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  12. These sound really good! I am always looking for new books that feature dogs. :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. While both of these books look good, as you guys must know, the animal-related books I prefer to read have to do with horses. However, I do enjoy reading a dog-related book now and again, so don't you boys feel bad now! I have met some terrific pooches in books, like "Buoy" in the recently-read "Just For Christmas".

    Of the two books above, I'm leaning more toward "Good Karma". And I seriously hope that Catherine and Ralph can resolve their marriage issues! They've been together for FIFTY years, for heaven's sake!! I don't like that Catherine has started a "friendship" with another man, and Ralph is flirting with other women. So I would really like to find out what happens!

    Well, boys, thanks so much for sharing!! And don't worry about the font change. We're glad you're both helping Mom out with blog posts! Please thank her for me, because she was nice enough to visit my own WOW post yesterday, and she left a very nice comment!! <3 :)

    You boys have a SUPER nice day!! WOOF, WOOF!!! :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Those both look good! I read the first in the Chet and Bernie series - I really enjoyed it. Love the dog narrrator. (But I'm not much of a series girl so never read any others. Just too many other books to get to, so I rarely read series.)

    Lol about the PS. :)

    ReplyDelete