Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday (96) - Booker T is Back!

Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings to spotlight highly anticipated books.  It is based on the Waiting on Wednesday meme which used to be hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Hello guys!  I'm back and ready to go.  Thanks so much for all the well wishes.  I've spent some time recuperating and found a few books I'll know Mom will love (and maybe you too).  Don't worry, Cass will be back eventually but he's lost his computer privileges for the time being. 

FROM GOODREADS: One extraordinary dog, a family in peril and a country turned upside-down by war. Can Bertie reunite everyone before it's too late?

Stranded in a war-torn London, pampered Bertie is cold, alone and scared. Now that his owner has passed away he has to learn the ways of a stray dog on the streets. Luckily he has the help of his new friends in the community, both those on two legs and on four.

But Bertie doesn't expect the Blitz and the horror it brings, or how some Londoners might start to resent pets in such difficult times. He also doesn't expect to find love again in the arms of one special little boy.
When his second chance of happiness is threatened Bertie knows he needs to do whatever he can to protect it, no matter what dangers lie in his path. With bombs raining down on London streets, can this small dog with the big heart help the ones he loves before it's too late?

Hopeful, heart-warming and fun, Bertie the Blitz Dog is perfect for fans of Alfie the Doorstep Cat and A Street Cat Named Bob.



FROM GOODREADS: From Sue Pethick, acclaimed author of Pet Friendly and Boomer s Bucket List, comes a heartwarming story sure to take the chill out of the holiday season . . .
Renee Richardson s list of Christmas wishes includes: a few more clients at her hair salon, a few less unsuitable dates set up by her father, and some new friends for her troubled young son, Kieran. Little does she know that Kieran has already made a pal in their new town . . . a scrappy little dog named Max, who he found in the woods.
When Max gets caught in a snare, Kieran and his grandfather rescue the pup, and the whole family begins to bond with their four-legged guest. The holidays draw closer and more chaotic and Renee has her hands full, especially when Max s owner turns up to claim him. Travis Diehl is the first man to intrigue her since her divorce though she s facing stiff competition in a local bombshell who also happens to be Renee s most important client. But as a white Christmas becomes a bona fide blizzard, Kieran, Renee, and Max may all gain the gift they've been longing for loyal companionship and a lifetime of love . . . 


WHY BOOKER T CAN'T WAIT: I love the covers on these books and Mom has been working so hard to take care of me the past few weeks, I thought they would make her smile.  Bertie sounds like an awesome read and I know she has some of Pethick's other books so she might as well add this one to her collection.

WHAT CAN'T YOU WAIT FOR THIS WEEK???
 








28 comments:

  1. Oh my goodness, these are so cute!

    And yay for the return of Booker T, I'm glad he's feeling better :)

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. He is doing much better. Finally finished up all his antibiotics and he's back to jumping in bed in the middle of the night.

      Delete
  2. Not familiar with these but I hope you and your mom enjoy them when they arrive!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hello handsome, good to have you back! We've been dead worried about you, y'know! Nice picks...I think Bertie sounds like an interesting read. I like the cover for sure. Hope you and mum enjoy the books if you get your paws on them soon! *hugs*

    ReplyDelete
  4. These both look like great reads, particularly Bertie! I hope you enjoyed them both. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I figure I will. I'll at least give them a shot!

      Delete
  5. Good choices Booker T, those look cute! :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. LOL the look on that dog's face on the cover of The Dog Who Came for Christmas! Welcome back Booker T!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know. I call it the "I didn't just pee on the Christmas tree" look.

      Delete
  7. Good choices. I especially liked the second one. Glad to hear Booker T is feeling better. And thanks for coming by.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for the good thoughts Laura.

      Delete
  8. I hadn't read a lot of books with dogs until last year and then found two series that I liked with that aspect in the story. I'll have to look these up. Thanks for sharing!!

    Tressa @ Wishful Endings

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Tell me more...what series were they? I'm curious if I know about them or if they might be new to me.

      Delete
  9. Those are VERY cute picks, Booker T!! You sure do know how to choose great dog stories! I've never read any "dog fiction" set in WWII, so I might pick up this one. But I also like the second book, as I ADORE Christmas, and that dog on the cover looks so sad and well, ADORABLE!

    It sounds like you've recovered completely from your injuries, and are back to your usual rambunctious self! Keep up the GREAT work, and say "Hi!" to your Mom!! Also, please tell her "Thank you" for visiting my blog and commenting on my "Can't Wait Wednesday" post!! WOOF, WOOF!!!! <3 <3 :) :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Good choices for your momma, BookerT. You are a good boy and we're all glad you are feeling well enough to post ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks and maybe next time I'll even let Cass help again.

      Delete
  11. These books sound so lovely! Cute covers!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  12. Glad to hear you are feeling better, buddy! Those look like some good picks - love the covers on both of them!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Welcome back! And uh oh. What's with the loss of privileges. LOL
    Both books look so cute.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Cass pretty much attacked T. I posted about it a while back. We were at work. Pretty traumatic. You can find the whole saga a few days back. Basically I'm still recovering and Cass is on his best behavior.

      Delete
  14. I am glad that T is doing better. So scary. We have 3 dogs and crate the youngest 2 when we are gone....but I found out that my husband wasn't always doing it when it is for a short period of time. (We have different days off of work most weeks). I told him your story and he is now following my rules.

    The covers of these books are just adorable.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sometimes it's hard to crate so I understand your husband's behavior. I'm glad you can use my situation as as a "teaching" device though. I'm still in shock that it happened because even now, they are very close. Guess I don't understand a dog's mind as much as I thought I did.

      Delete