Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (6)

"Waiting on" Wednesday is weekly meme hosted over at Breaking the Spine which spotlights upcoming anticipated releases.  Here is what I am most waiting for this week:

Furiously Happy: Jenny Lawson
Releases: September 22, 2015

For fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey, and Mindy Kaling-the new book from Jenny Lawson, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller LET'S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED...

In LET'S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, Jenny Lawson baffled readers with stories about growing up the daughter of a taxidermist. In her new book, FURIOUSLY HAPPY, Jenny explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. And terrible ideas are what Jenny does best.

According to Jenny: "Some people might think that being 'furiously happy' is just an excuse to be stupid and irresponsible and invite a herd of kangaroos over to your house without telling your husband first because you suspect he would say no since he's never particularly liked kangaroos. And that would be ridiculous because no one would invite a herd of kangaroos into their house. Two is the limit. I speak from personal experience. My husband says that none is the new limit. I say he should have been clearer about that before I rented all those kangaroos."

"Most of my favorite people are dangerously f-ed-up but you'd never guess because we've learned to bare it so honestly that it becomes the new normal. Like John Hughes wrote in The Breakfast Club, 'We're all pretty bizarre. Some of us are just better at hiding it.' Except go back and cross out the word 'hiding.'"

Jenny's first book, LET'S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, was ostensibly about family, but deep down it was about celebrating your own weirdness. FURIOUSLY HAPPY is a book about mental illness, but under the surface it's about embracing joy in fantastic and outrageous ways-and who doesn't need a bit more of that?

 I read her first book and loved it and personally can't wait to get this one in my hands.  I haven't checked out "Let's Pretend This Never Happened" I suggest you get that one while waiting for this one to release.

What are you waiting for this week?


  1. Sounds like a really interesting book. I haven't read anything else by Jenny Lawson, and her first books seems interesting too! Although I gotta say that the cover kind of freaks me out a bit haha

    1. Her father was a taxidermist growing up and she now collects weird animals. The cover of her first book is a taxidermied mouse wearing a vampire cape. She has a blog called "The Bloggess" which is a good way to find out if you find her humorous or not. Thanks for visiting!