Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Can't Wait Wednesday (240)


Can't Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings to spotlight highly anticipated books.  It is based on the Waiting on Wednesday meme which used to be hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

So the public has spoken - Cass is now a full-time contributor to Can't Wait Wednesday.  That means each week you'll see two books here. Of course Cass is already lobbying for an increase in salary (at least he works for treats - and bandanas).




FROM GOODREADS: Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab's Shades of Magic trilogy and A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES.

Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD; the aftermath of being outed as bisexual in her conservative Irish town; and the return of her long-absent mother, who barely seems like a parent. But all that really matters to her is ascending and finally, finally becoming a full witch-plans that are complicated when another coven, rumored to have a sordid history with black magic, arrives in town with premonitions of death. Dayna immediately finds herself at odds with the bewitchingly frustrating Meiner King, the granddaughter of their coven leader.

And then a witch turns up murdered at a local sacred site, along with the blood symbol of the Butcher of Manchester-an infamous serial killer whose trail has long gone cold. The killer's motives are enmeshed in a complex web of witches and gods, and Dayna and Meiner soon find themselves at the center of it all. If they don't stop the Butcher, one of them will be next.

With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, E. Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology set against a backdrop of contemporary Ireland that's impossible to put down. 

WHY I CAN'T WAIT:  Although the mention of The Discovery of Witches makes me nervous, it also makes me intrigued.  Plus the cover has one of my favorite color combinations.  

CASSIUS'S PICK: 


FROM GOODREADS:  Wedding Crashers and a dead pastor? It’s another Metamora disaster.

June wedding bells are ringing! Cameron Cripps Hayman is the matron of honor and her five furry good boys are all ushers, so what could go wrong?

Five days out from the big day the new pastor is found hanging from the choir loft. It’s ruled a suicide by the police, but Cam and her Action Agency suspect foul play. Cam’s police officer husband warns her to not stir up trouble where none exists, but when the pastor’s home is ransacked, it’s clear to Cam that she was murdered.

With the whole town geared up for the big day, Cam and her team set out to tie up the case before the honeymoon is canceled. But the killer hasn’t found what he’s searching for and isn’t about to let a group of amateur sleuths scare him off—he’ll try to scare them off first.

WHY CASS CAN'T WAIT:  Mom read the first three books in this series a while back and then they stopped being released.  She mentioned something about the imprint not being around anymore - Midnight Ink I think.  Well, the author finally released a new one earlier this month and now there's been a 5th announced for January.  Mom will be thrilled, even if I personally think her reading time is about to be cut down.

WHAT BOOK CAN'T YOU WAIT FOR THIS WEEK?

39 comments:

  1. You guys always find the most interesting books! Witches of Ash and Ruin caught my attention. The comparison to The Discovery of Witches makes me a bit wary too, but then the one to Shades of Magic sort of evens it out, lol! Regardless, I'm definitely intrigued.

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I liked Discovery of Witches once I read it so I'm concerned it might have a lot of romance. It actually worked for me on DoW but you know I'm not big on it.

      Delete
  2. Ancient Celtic mythology sounds really intriguing to me! I hope that you love both of these. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I don't come across enough stories about witches, so that intrigues me!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm pretty much a sucker for anything with witches.

      Delete
  4. You're right Cass, that new puppy is going to keep you all busy but time must be found for reading fun! I hope you and Apollo get good bedtime stories!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Witches of Ash and Ruin is going on my list to watch for but it has some pretty big shoes to feel putting it up there with DoW!! And of course the doggie mystery sounds good!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I just love the cover of Witches of Ash & Ruin, I'm pretty sure that's already on my TBR but I'm going to check right now!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really love the cover and have had it on my wishlist but am not quite sure how it got there.

      Delete
  7. I haven't read any books by Jamie Blair so I need to go search for some! Good pick, Cass!

    The cover of Witches of Ash and Ruin is very eye-catching and the book sounds good! I hope you get to read both books soon, Barb.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The series is pretty good so I definitely would recommend the first Blair one. I think it's called Dog Days of Summer.

      Delete
  8. they both sound great. i want to welcome cassius as a contributor and for sharing his selection
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
  9. These both sound good! Love the cover of Woeful Wedding Day.

    My CWW

    ReplyDelete
  10. Both of those books sound good. The second book has a cute cover.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Cass has good taste! Woeful Wedding Day sounds like part of a good series. I'll have to check it out.
    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  12. They both sound good but I am leaning towards checking out the witch book first. Hope you enjoy them both. My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love celtic mythology, plus the OCD thing- this sounds super interesting!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, Celtic mythology is always pretty good.

      Delete
  14. I am glad that Cass is now a full-time contributor to these! Both picks are new to me but I hope you get to read them!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Jess. Yep, I can't keep Cass away ;)

      Delete
  15. I totally focused on the blend of modern witchcraft and mythology and blanked on the Discovery of Witches bit lol It does sound wonderfully good and suspenseful so here's hoping it reads like that! And Woeful Wedding Day, OMG, that cover! Cass picked a good one!

    ReplyDelete
  16. They both look pretty darn good! Great picks Barb and Cassius!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Yes, that Witches of Ash and Ruin cover is great. I don't care for red, but I love a good black and red book cover. 👍✨

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't wear red very often. I like it on my nails and I love red, white and blue stuff in the summer. The combo of red, white and black is great together - they were also my wedding colors.

      Delete
  18. Witches of Ash and Ruin with the witchcraft and Celtic mythology caught my attention somehow. The cover is not really mine, but the summary? Holy moly. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're quite welcome. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  19. "Perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab's Shades of Magic trilogy and A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES." Just seeing that immediately made me want to read this book since I enjoyed both of those series so much. Great pick this week!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'll be glad when DoW Season 2 starts on tv. I need a fix!

      Delete
  20. Witches and Gods - sound like Witches of Ash and Ruin is another book I need to check out. Why, just why - are you trying to break my tbr!
    Lynn :D

    ReplyDelete